Posted by: kateraidt | March 24, 2010

Secret Treatment for Eczema

My son is 20-months old. He has had chronic eczema for almost a year. Our pediatrician has given us every ointment, cream and remedy known to man. About a month ago we were in her office being treated for an ear infection. She noticed the eczema was still raging.

Pediatrician: I have one last remedy I want you to try to treat your son’s eczema.
Me: OK. What’s that?
Pediatrician: Crisco. Smother him with Crisco before he goes to bed. Cover him with his pajamas. It works like a charm. I use it on my own children.
Me: Crisco? You mean the stuff you use for fried chicken?
Pediatrician: Yep. Give that a try and let me know how it works.

So I went that day to the store and bought a big tub of Crisco shortening. The thought of scooping up a wad of it and smothering it on my son’s body made me want to gag. The Crisco sat in my pantry for a month…until last night. We came home from gymnastics and my son was blazing red from head to toe. His eczema was the worst I had ever seen it. Okay honey, time for the Crisco. We rocks/paper/scissored over who had to do the dirty job. I lost. I rolled up my sleeves, sunk my hand in the Crisco jug and began my duty as Nurse Mom. Time for bed.

I was eager to wake up this morning and strip down my son to see if the Crisco had worked it’s magic. IT DID! Less than 12 hours after applying the Crisco, my son had just a slight trace of his eczema left. I wish I had taken before and after photos, but I was truly sceptical that the Crisco would not possibly work.

I smothered my son again this morning before he went to school and informed his teachers that he will be a little slippery when they change his diaper. I am hoping that his will be the end to our battle with eczema!

Responses

  1. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I believe that you ought
    to write more about this subject matter, it may not be a
    taboo subject but generally people do not speak about
    such topics. To the next! Cheers!!

  2. Thanks Im going to try this myself. I also have it on my legs and the thick pajamas make me worse so I use the thin ones. Also by law children’s Pajamas have a fire retardant in them that is known to flare up eczema. There are some allergy free clothing web-sights out there and chemical free clothing. Good luck

  3. Thank you for sharing your experience. Praying it does wonders for my little one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

